Hailing from Kingston-upon-Hull, Messrs John Ellis, Mike Jones, John Dunn (all vocalists and strummers), Neil Cawley (flute) and John Beazer (bongos), recorded their sole set, the eponymous MOTHS {*6}, at the Gulbenkian Centre in their local Hull University on 23rd June 1970. The LP’s rarity value has increased over the years (think £500), with songs borrowed from BERT JANSCH (`I Am Lonely’, `Travelling Song’, `Running From Home’ and `Dreams Of Love’), BOB DYLAN (`I Shall Be Released’), TIM BUCKLEY (`Phantasmagoria In Two’), CLIVE PALMER (`Empty Pocket Blues’) and DAVID ACKLES (`Be My Friend’); the other two tracks were penned by leader John Ellis. They graduated and probably morphed into bigger and better things.
© MC Strong 2010/GFD // rev-up MCS Dec2016

Share this Project

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.